Your Slogan Goes Here


The Scottish Rite Degrees

Attainment of the third Masonic degree, that of a Master Mason, represents the attainment of the highest rank in all of Masonry. Any Master Mason stands as an equal before every other Master Mason, regardless of position, class, or other degrees.

Additional degrees are sometimes referred to as appendant degrees, even where the degree numbering might imply a hierarchy. Appendant degrees represent a lateral movement in Masonic Education rather than an upward movement. These are not degrees of rank, but rather degrees of instruction.

In many countries, some craft lodges use Scottish Rite ritual in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd degrees.

In the United States, members of the Scottish Rite can be elected to receive the 33° by the Supreme Council. It is conferred on members who have made major contributions to society or to Masonry in general.

The Scottish Rite Northern Masonic Jurisdiction designates its degrees in the following manner:

4° through 14°: Lodge of Perfection
15° and 16°: Council, Princes of Jerusalem
17° and 18°: Chapter of Rose Croix
19° through 32°: Consistory

The Supreme Council is the governing body of the Scottish Rite in the various jurisdictions, and charters all subordinate bodies. Voting members of the Supreme Council are chosen from among those members who have obtained the 33°.  These members are referred to as Active Members.

Scottish Rite Core Values

The 32° Masonic core values are so strong a force that despite the ebb and flow of society, government, politics, technology and culture, they remain that bright beacon of Masonic Light undimmed through the centuries, illuminating the perpetual safe harbor sought for generations:

Reverence for God
Devotion to country

List of Degrees and Core Values

Degree No.   Degree Name   Core Values
  Master Traveler   Reverence for God, Integrity, Justice, Toleration,
Devotion to Country, Service

  Perfect Master   Reverence for God, Integrity, Jutice
  Master of the Brazen Serpent   Reverence for God
  Provost and Judge   Integrity, Justice
  Intendant of the Building  
  Master of the Temple   Reverence for God, Service
10°   Master Elect  
11°   Sublime Master Elected   Integrity
12°   Master of Mercy   Integrity, Justice
13°   Master of the Ninth Arch  
14°   Grand Elect Mason   Reverence for God
15°   Knight of the East   Integrity
16°   Prince of Jerusalem   Reverence for God
17°   Knight of the East and West  
18°   Knight of the Rose Croix   Reverence for God, Toleration
19°   Brother of the Trail   Reverence for God, Integrity
20°   Master ad Vitam   Integrity, Devotion to Country
21°   Patriarch Noachite   Justice
22°   Prince of Libanus   Service
23°   Knight of Valor   Reverence for God, Toleration, Devotion to Country,
24°   Brother of the Forest   Toleration
25°   Master of Achievement   Devotion to Country, Service
26°   Friend and Brother Eternal   Integrity, Devotion to Country
27°   Knight of Jerusalem   Justice, Toleration
28°   Knight of the Sun  
29°   Knight of St. Andrew   Toleration
30°   Grand Inspector  
31°   Knight Aspirant   Reverence for God, Integrity, Devotion to Country,

32°   Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret   Devotion to Country, Service